Thursday, July 1, 2010

So today is the offical weigh in day for our group that is competeing. I am at 224, so thats down three pounds since Monday. I am happy, yet have a voice in my head saying you need to loose 70 lbs...whats that 3 gonna do. Then the voice of reasoning brings up it's 3 less that you have to loose. Does anyone else do this, it's such a mental game and I need to learn how to control it. For my bmi wieght I should weigh between 130-145. I have not weighted that since prob junior high and I was never over weight as a kid, or young adult really. I am hoping that I will be happy at 160 and healthy too. My goal is to be able to run 10 miles while my kids bike it, since they love to do this and ofcourse they have the energy to go for miles and miles. I have done pretty well with cravings, not over eating. I have been eating those yogurts that have the cake recipes and fat free pudding cups at night. So yesterday I ate yogurt for breakfast with a large coffee, had a large salad with some lunch meat, ham, and portillios dressing, some watermelon and dinner was two chicken legs grilled, blt pasta salad and green peppers. Then my beloved pudding cup. Oh I did have two afternoon beers with a friend, and I drink full leaded no light.
So as long as I can keep eating pretty normal I think I can do this, it's all about portion control for me.

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Weight Loss...

So since I have been pregnant with Paige, she is now 8.5, I have been over weight. I am now at the point I am sick of it and the weight needs to go, so this will serve as my diary, and log. I am hoping that this serves as an extra accountability measure. I am competing with two friends on who can get to their goal weight first. So I am at...ugh are you ready 227 as of a few days ago. I weighed myself today at it was 225, no way I couldn't believe it so I weighed myself all day long, and all day it was 225. So I must be doing something right...I hope.
So the plan is a weight watchers style I am not doing it but my friend has and she said it's a good way to live and eat healthy. I must add we are not currently in our house since our floors are being redone and it is not making this easy. So when I get my own kitchen and house back things should go smoothly. I will report back in two days after my next weigh in.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

The whole teacher thing...

So because of our states financial situation our district is having to reduce their budget to stay with in budget. I know how important this is and I am really happy that our school board and superintendant have done so for the past oh say 13 years. The teachers have been offered a pay freeze to save all the other teachers that will have to be let go. The word on the street is not too confident that it will be a majority vote to have the pay freeze. I am so not happy with that. Mostly because we will be loosing 4 of the BEST teachers at my kids school. These are the teachers that come in early, stay late, start after school programs to expose kids to music and art when otherwise they would not have it. The help put on the school play, they talk to parents like we are human and not just dumb. I am so upset about it that it has started to consume my thoughts, which I am aware that is very unhealthy. My sopution is to fire all the teachers, get rid of the union and rehire the desireable teachers not just the ones that are tenured. They would be hired based on parent evaulation, test scores...gasp....I know right they would be judged on their performance!!! Like the rest of the freaking world. I know Joe does not get a raise let alone get to keep his job just because he has been there for so long. This is my main beef with unions in general, thats a whole other blog though.
Where is the union for these teaches that have busted their ass for our kids?!? I want these teachers in our school, to make it better. This will affect our town in so many ways I dont think anyone is thinking about the long term affect this will have. SO I have gotten an idea with another concered mom, I hope it works and I will let you know...

Saturday, February 20, 2010

Are you proud of who you are?

So I read on one of my friends facebook pages "brown pride", he is half white and half mexican. He is proud of being mexican, there is nothing wrong with that right? I dont see anything wrong with that. I am proud to be his friend. My problem with this is that if I were to post "white pride" on my page I would probably have a long list of people telling me how offensive it is, that is comes across racist...WHY!!! I am white, my ansertors were white, they were from England for goodness sake. Why cant I be proud that my family came across the ocean to a country that had nothing and built themselves a life and family to sustain to today? I dont know if they had slaves, servants or any of the sort. They probably did but there is nothing I can do to change it and I am sorry for those people that were their slaves or servants. I am not sorry for their famies , that may seem cold and harsh but it is reality. Obviously it has been overcome to the point where even a black man can be president. I am just really sick of the special treatment that is given to those of color...we are not the majority anymore us white folk I mean. We are a melting pot, so shouldnt the help be given to those in need, not based of the color of their skin? I am all for education and health care for all, but that is why we pay our taxes so that we can make our children a productive part of society. It only betters our country as a whole when we keep our families healthy and educated. However when families move here from out of the country and dont pay taxes but receive free help and work for cash why is nothing done about it? It is not one race doing it, I am well aware of that and I do not blame one race. I blame us Americans who have let this continue to the point we can not even keep teachers in our schools. Where are our priorities? Why arent we proud enough to stand up for ourselves as well as everyone else? It was just as hard for people 100 years ago to come here and start over as it is today. There are just different obsticals. Think about where we need to be as a country as things fall apart around us, if we cant take care of what we have what makes us think we can take care of everyone that decides to come to America...

Friday, February 19, 2010

Left in silence with my thoughts...

can be a very dangerous thing. Have you ever thought about if you actually wrote down every thought you had, that mattered? Not the have to do this, that and the other, thoughts but the ones that change you.
I am thinking about friendships today and how I have a lot of "friends" but not a lot of real true love friends. Joe pointed out to me that I have to be friends with everyone, or so I think. Why is that, why do I feel the need to have to be friends with someone and not just acquaintances. There is nothing wrong with not being friends with someone. I certainly don't get offended by people who do not befriend me. Why do I assume that others do if I don't? Is it narcissism? Is it a fear of not being liked? Is it a fear of that's not the nice thing to do? I don't know but I do find myself being friends with people that I don't particularly like. Then what, is it OK to say," You know since I have gotten to know you I don't really think I like you." Do they feel the same way, how else do you know if you like someone if you don't hang out???
But I have to say that I am truly blessed to have aah 6 or 7 really wonderful women who I would do anything for and know they would do the same for me. You know who you are and I love you dearly and I know we will be friends for life.